Skip to main content
"By creating we think, by living we learn" Patrick Geddes
Main University menu
 

Templates Top-Level Menu

Upcoming events in Mathematics

(previous see here)
Mon 23/10/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Prof. Christian Engwer (University of Münster)
(Themes: Mathematical Biology, Numerical Analysis)
Mon 30/10/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Tadahiro Oh (University of Edinburgh)
(Themes: Partial Differential Equations)
Mon 06/11/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Mark Wilkinson (Heriot-Watt University)
(Themes: Partial Differential Equations)
Mon 13/11/17 14:15
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Prof. Pietro-Luciano Buono (University of Ontario Institute of Technology)
Symmetry in Motion - trotting, swarming and choreographies
abstract

Abstract

Symmetry has been recognized for a long time as an important principle in exploring scientific fields such as physics and chemistry. Symmetry in mathematical models is encoded using group theory and recently, the use of group-theoretic methods has become more prevalent in biology. In this talk, I will start by presenting some highlights of the use of group theoretic methods in nonlinear dynamics. Then, I will review some results from a mathematical model of quadruped locomotion and a model of animal aggregation. I will conclude by going back to physics and discuss choreographies in the N-body problem.

hide

Thu 16/11/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Björn Stinner (University of Warwick)
(Themes: Numerical Analysis)
Mon 20/11/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Kris van der Zee (University of Nottingham)
(Themes: Numerical Analysis)
Mon 27/11/17 15:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Andrew Hillier (University of Exeter)
A new look at Self-similar solutions of asymmetric Rayleigh-Taylor mixing
Tue 12/12/17 14:15
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. David Bourne (Durham University)
(Themes: Partial Differential Equations)
Mon 15/01/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Kostas Zygalakis (University of Edinburgh)
(Themes: Mathematical Biology, Stochastic Dynamics)
Mon 22/01/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Prof. Georgios Akrivis (University of Ioannina)
(Themes: Numerical Analysis)
Mon 29/01/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Peter Stewart (University of Galsgow)
(Themes: Mathematical Biology, Continuum Mechanics)
Mon 05/02/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Sergey Anfinogentov (University of Warwick)
Analysis of low-amplitude oscillations in solar corona by motion magnification
Mon 12/02/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Stephen Metcalfe (University of York)
(Themes: Numerical Analysis, Scientific Computing)
Mon 19/03/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Prof. Andrew Gilbert (University of Exeter)
(Themes: MHD)
Mon 26/03/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Prof. Miguel Onorato (Università di Torino)
(Themes: Nonlinear waves)
Mon 07/05/18 14:00
Fulton G20
Mathematics Seminar
Dr. Carlo Mercuri (University of Swansea)
(Themes: Partial Differential Equations)