Skip to main content
"By creating we think, by living we learn" Patrick Geddes
Main University menu

Templates Top-Level Menu

News - Divison of Mathematics - University of Dundee

Mathematics Division News / Events:

Charly Dixon Award

Charlie Dixon Charlie Dixon AwardFour mathematics students have been presented with Dr Charlie Dixon Awards for exceptional dedication to their studies. The awards, made for the first time this year, are given to mathematics students from the Dundee area and are very generously provided by the Memorial Fund of the late Dr Charlie Dixon. Students Craig Johnston, Maggie Long, Rachel Meldrum and Andrew McQueen were presented with the awards as they, each in their own way, have shown tremendous endeavour in their studies. The awards were presented by Mr Bob Adams, Tayside Investment Ltd. and Mr Iain Reid, Campbell Boath Solicitors who, along with Mr Kenneth Whitehurst also of Tayside Investments Ltd., form the Trustees of the Charlie Dixon Memorial Fund.

Dr Charlie Dixon was a Senior Lecturer in the Mathematics Department at the University of Dundee and had worked there for over 47 years on his retiral in 2000, making him one of the University's longest serving members of staff. Charile was a dedicated and enthusiatic teacher and was the students' perennial favourite. He was an avid supporter of extending access to University to those who might not have considered further studies, was the founding member of the University's Schools Liaison Office and the first Dean of Students for the Faculty of Science and Engineering. Sadly, Charlie died suddenly in 2009, but was active to that last. These awards represent a fitting continuation of his efforts.

Ivory Chair

Congratulations to Mark Chaplain on being awarded the Ivory Chair in Applied Mathematics

New Positions avalaible

The College invites applications for new positions in areas of Applied Mathematics. See Dundee Fellows »

Two 3-year postdoctoral positions are available. Further details can be found here.


Congratulations to Jill McGowan and Jonny Weightman and the rest of the iGem Team for wining a gold medal at the Eurpoean Heats of iGEM 2012.


to the 2012 Graduates! Well done!
Graduation 2012 picture


to Rachelle Binny for winning the 2012 Sir James Black Award


A warm welcome to our two new members of staff, Dr Eftimie and Dr Ptashnyk.

Prof Chaplain becomes EMS president

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society (EMS) was founded in 1883 and has since become firmly established as the principal mathematical society for the university community in Scotland. The aims of the EMS are the promotion and extension of the Mathematical Sciences, pure and applied, particularly in Scotland, and it draws its membership from all the Scottish universities and other educational institutions as well as from mathematicians in industry and commerce both at home and overseas

Professor Chaplain said he was very honoured at being elected President for a period of 2 years (2011 - 2013) and looked forward to working with the General Council of the Society and the UK Council for Mathematical Sciences (CMS) in raising the profile of mathematics and mathematics research with EPSRC and the UK Government in these difficult time. (Nov 2011)

Leverhulme Prize

Congratulations to David Pontin on winning the prestigious Leverhulme Prize. More ... (Nov 2011)


Congratulations to Ali Hussein Shuaa Al-Taie for successfully defending his theses. Well done! (Oct 2011)


A warm welcome to our two new members of staff, Dr Eftimie and Dr Ptashnyk. (Aug 2011)


Congratulations to Ali Al-Hachami and Hassan Mayah for successfully defending their theses. Well done! (June 2011)


Congratulations to Hiroko Kamei for becoming a permanent member of staff!

Divisional Newsletter

Our latest Divisional Newsletter.